Our Work

Since its founding in 1979, the Lakes Region Conservation Trust has conserved more than 160 properties totaling more than 28,200 acres of land in the region.  The conserved lands owned in fee simple by LRCT total over 18,000 acres and, at the time of their acquisition, had an appraised value of over $30 million; the remaining land is protected via conservation easement or other means.

LRCT’s conserved lands protect:

  • Mountain summits and ridgelines
  • Critical habitat for plants and wildlife, including endangered species
  • Productive farm and forest lands
  • Places of historic and cultural significance
  • Undeveloped shorelines
  • Hiking and cross-country ski trails
  • And some of the region’s most cherished scenic landscapes.

Red Hill from Mt. Morgan

In pursuing land conservation opportunities, LRCT works with landowners and community volunteers to explore and evaluate conservation options, and we attempt to respond to local conservation and recreation priorities by protecting properties with clear conservation value and demonstrated community support.  Gifts of land and conservation easements are the preferred method of land protection; nonetheless, LRCT has had significant experience and success raising funds from sources in and beyond the Lakes Region to support purchases and bargain purchases of key conservation lands.  LRCT is presently working on land conservation opportunities throughout the region, including on Red Hill, in the Ossipees, around Winnipesaukee, in the Squam watershed, in the Belknaps, and in the Newfound watershed.

Highlights of LRCT’s First 40 Years

Click to enlarge

Areas of Focus

The Lakes Region Conservation Trust works in the 31-town Lakes Region of central New Hampshire as defined by the Lakes Region Planning Commission, which encompasses the following towns:

Alexandria, Alton, Andover, Ashland, Barnstead, Belmont, Bridgewater, Bristol, Brookfield, Center Harbor, Danbury, Effingham, Franklin, Freedom, Gilford, Gilmanton, Hebron, Hill, Holderness, Laconia, Meredith, Moultonborough, New Hampton, Northfield, Ossipee, Sanbornton, Sandwich, Tamworth, Tilton, Tuftonboro, Wolfeboro

LRCT’s territory also includes the portion of any neighboring municipality containing an extension of a geographic feature, such as a lake, watershed, ridgeline, mountain range. This region includes the towns around six of the ten largest lakes in New Hampshire — Lake Winnipesaukee, Squam Lake, Lake Winnisquam, Newfound Lake, Ossipee Lake, and Lake Wentworth.



Conserved Lands Summary

Acreage Conserved: 28,245 acres (total) in 160 properties

18,130 acres owned

8,743 acres subject to primary conservation easements

1,372 acres protected through other means

Shoreline Conserved: 35 miles on Lake Winnipesaukee, Squam Lake, Newfound Lake, Bearcamp Pond, White Oak Pond, Knights Pond, Bearcamp River, Cockermouth River, and other water bodies, rivers, and streams throughout the region

Summits Conserved: 28 summits, including Red Hill, Mt. Shaw, Faraway Mtn., Mt. Roberts, Mt. Webster, Mt. Livermore, Copple Crown Mtn., and Sugarloaf

Hiking Trails: More than 120 miles on LRCT-conserved land

Towns with Conserved Land: Alexandria, Albany, Alton, Ashland, Barnstead, Belmont, Brookfield, Campton, Center Harbor, Gilford, Gilmanton, Hebron, Hill, Holderness, Laconia, Meredith, Moultonborough, Northfield, Ossipee, Sandwich, Tamworth, Tuftonboro, Wolfeboro

Key Conserved Properties:

Stonedam Island Conservation Area, Lake Winnipesaukee, Meredith

Castle in the Clouds Conservation Area, Moultonborough/Tuftonboro

Sewall Woods Conservation Area, Wolfeboro

Red Hill Conservation Area, Moultonborough

Burleigh Land LP Conservation Area, Squam Range, Holderness/Campton

Knights Pond Conservation Area, Alton

Copple Crown Conservation Area, Brookfield

Piper Mountain/Moulton Valley Conservation Area, Gilford

Five Mile Island Conservation Area, Lake Winnipesaukee, Meredith

Page Hill and Glory Hill Conservation Area, Hill

Center Harbor Woods, Center Harbor/Moultonborough

Blanchard Island Conservation Area, Lake Winnipesaukee, Moultonborough

Sandwich Notch Dinsmore Mountain Conservation Area, Sandwich

Ragged Island Conservation Area, Lake Winnipesaukee, Tuftonboro

Severance Farm Conservation Area, Moultonborough

Red Hill River Conservation Area, Sandwich

Pine Hill Conservation Area, Moultonborough

Ossipee Mountain Preserve, Tamworth

Tewksbury Brook Preserve, Sandwich

Hackl Conservation Easement, Tuftonboro

Grey Rocks Conservation Easement, Hebron

Sugarloaf Ridge – Goose Pond Conservation Area, Alexandria

Fogg Hill Conservation Area, Center Harbor